Trump Signs Anti-Abortion Declaration With Authoritarian Countries That Fail on Human Rights

President Donald Trump has signed the anti-abortion Geneva Consensus Declaration along with 32 countries that are mostly authoritarian regimes or seen as flawed democracies, reports Forbes.

The countries include Egypt, Hungary, Indonesia, Brazil, Uganda, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Libya, Sudan, Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates, and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

None of the 32 countries, besides the U.S., rank higher than 95th on Georgetown University’s Women, Peace and Security Index.

The Trump administration has been urging countries to support the Geneva Consensus Declaration — which denies women health care — since 2019, reports The Guardian.

(Sources: Georgetown University, Forbes, The Economist, The Guardian)

About The Author

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get The Latest News Videos Before Everyone Else!

Get The Latest News Videos Before Everyone Else!

Subscribe to our Newsletter for Free (Really!)

You have Successfully Subscribed!